Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra बृहत् पाराशर होरा शास्त्रम् (Hindi) by Padma Nabha Sharma

According to one theory, Brahma taught the Vedas and Jyotisha to his son Narada. Narada in turn taught these to Rishi Saunaka. Parashara was the disciple of Rishi Saunaka. The Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra is in the form of dialogs between Rishi Parashara and his disciple Maitreya who asks questions and Parashara explain the principles. Even after 5000 years it is still the best classic on astrology!! The rest of the astrology classics are based on this immortal work. Hence it is always advisable and appropriate to start the learning of astrology with this great classic. Many of the Yogas found in Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra are commonly found in other astrological texts, except for the unique Bhava Lords Effects Chapter ” the effects of each Bhava lord in each Bhava, which are not a common mark of other texts. It is quite likely that these 144 Bhava Yogas are attributed to Parashara as his system deals extensively with this aspect of astrology. With regards to the other Yogas it is difficult to ascertain. Were they taken from an older version of Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra by the authors of other ancient texts or were they accidentally included in the available version of Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra? The Nabhasa Yogas and the important named Yogas such as Gajakesari Yoga are clear and work in practice, so we can apply them with confidence even without knowing to whom they are attributable. The Raja Yogas given in Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra are, to a large degree, corruptions of that which is given in Upadesa Sutras, so it is better to turn to Upadesa Sutras for those. In conclusion, while some of the Yogas (outside the 144 Bhava Yogas giving the Effects of the Bhava Lords) may be original to Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra, they are not unique to it and are found in many other texts as well. The 144 Bhava Yogas, however, are unique to Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra and thus a very important contribution.

The most ancient scripture giving the very fundamental principles of vedic astrology as expounded by Maharishi Parasara : versatile,and yet compact to comprehend.It touches upon the very basic as well as complexed dimensions of astrology.Also deals with every perceptible event,subject and attribute.It is for these special features that it is reckoned as the fountain head of vedic astrology. Vedic Astrology exists at three levels as statement of Gods, Sages or learned Astrologers. The text represents only the statement of Sage Parasara who stands out in the lineage of eighteen Indian sages, but is the only complete system of Vedic Astrology which covers the whole gamut of axiom which can be usefully employed to interpret future of life.

Price INR 85

How to Order and Get the eBook

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra बृहत् पाराशर होरा शास्त्रम् Tika (Classic -Poorva khand in Sanskrit; Uttara khand in Hindi) by Giridhar Lal Sharma (1905)

Parashar Samhita पराशर संहिता (Sanskrit and Hindi) by Natvar Chakraborty

Laghu Parashari (Vol 1) by Marc Boney

Madhya Parashari (Vimsottari Dasa Results) by S P Bhagat

Jyotish: Parashar Code of Prediction; Bhava and Yoga Analysis: Based on Ten Prime Classics by Om Prakash Paliwal

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra बृहत् पाराशर होरा शास्त्रम् (Classic – Hindi) by Ganesh Datt Pathak गणेश दत्त पाठक

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra (Classic – Hindi) by Tara Chandra Shastri

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra (Vol 2) by Girish Chand Sharma

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra (Vol 1) by Girish Chand Sharma

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra of Maharshi Parasara Vol 2 by R Santhanam

Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra of Maharshi Parasara Vol 1 by R Santhanam

Brihat Parasara Hora Shastra – Vol I and II (Classic – Hindi) by Suresh Chandra Mishra

Laghu Parashari (Classic – Hindi) by Sitaram Jha